Data Storage (Cloud)

This page gives some details about how the navigation configuration is stored by the SubSpace app. It also outlines some peculiarities when using the app with the Free Plan of Confluence Cloud. Understanding these details can help in troubleshooting issues with the app.

How data is stored

Upon first installation, the SubSpace app will create a new space in your Confluence Cloud system. This space is entitled “Communardo Products and has the space key COMMUNARDOPRODUCTS. The space contains a page named “Navigation Configuration” which is the page where we store the configuration data for the navigation bar. Data is saved within a hidden “Page Properties” macro.

Confluence users have read permission to this page, but only users in groups with admin access have edit permission to the page.

Only users in these groups are able to change the navigation bar structure; they have edit permission to the “Navigation Configuration” page. Such users see the configuration icon at the navigation bar, which will open the dialog for updating the structure.

Image 1: Config icon at the navigation bar (click to enlarge)

On the other hand, only users with read permissions to this “Navigation Configuration” page are able to see the top navigation bar. 

Since the SubSpace Navigation app assumes this setup, we recommend that you:

  • have at least one group with admin access

  • do not delete this space or page

  • do not change the permissions of space or page manually

Working with SubSpace on Free Plan of Confluence

Feature differences in the Free Plan of Confluence Cloud

Major difference users will experience working on the Free plan is that the data storage page will not be restricted for editing to only users in groups with admin access. This is because certain features such as ‘Permissions and Restrictions’ are not available when using Confluence Cloud on the Free Plan.

Still, only users in groups with admin access will see the configuration icon at the navigation bar, but normal users can also edit the navigation structure by manually editing data on the the “Navigation Configuration” page.

When opening the navigation configuration dialog, a message is shown, explaining briefly how the app works in the Free Plan.

Image 1: Message on the App’s behavior in the Free Plan of Confluence (click to enlarge)

Upgrading to Confluence Cloud Standard Plan

When you upgrade to Confluence Cloud Standard Plan or other paid plans, Confluence enables the ‘Permissions and Restrictions’ feature. When opening the configuration dialog, we automatically set the edit permissions to the data storage space, so that normal users will not be able to manually edit data on the the “Navigation Configuration” page.